Sat. Oct 31st, 2020

Super Rugby Live updates: Lions vs Sharks – as it happens

beastThe Sharks will be fired up for their Friday night encounter with the Lions in the latest Super Rugby SA Derby.

super rugby live updates lions vs sharks as it happens 1024x695 - Super Rugby Live updates: Lions vs Sharks – as it happens

bf1f976d tendai mtawarira 1200x814 - Super Rugby Live updates: Lions vs Sharks – as it happens

Robert du Preez believes that his Sharks team will be able to put aside the twin sideshows of the Akker van der Merwe punch up, and the Chilliboy Ralepelle banned substances saga.

Lions coach Swys De Bruin has just extended his contact with the franchise for two more years, and he was confident that his team would not underestimate the physical presence of the Sharks.

“Look‚ we are preparing for a physical battle. They will be fired up.

“They will come hard up-front,” said the Lions coach this week.

Aphiwe Dyantyi lines up opposite Lukhanyo Am in a contest that could prove to be the highlight of the night, both are international quality outside backs and bring heaps of ‘x-factor’ to every game.

Tendai “Beast” Mtawarira will start the match against the Lions making national history when he becomes the most capped South African player in Super Rugby, each and every game played in the colours of the Sharks.

Mtawarira would desperately love to cap his 157th appearance with a crucial win over the Lions on Friday but not for his own sake.

“For me, definitely the team comes first and we know what we need to do. We played really well against the Vodacom Bulls but the only thing we didn’t do was winning the game. We’re hungry to get a good victory so we’re focusing on this game and the challenge it brings.” He
related to

Kick off is scheduled for 19:10 SAST on Friday 5 April.

Super Rugby Teams


Andries Coetzee; Tyrone Green‚ Aphiwe Dyantyi‚ Lionel Mapoe‚ Courtnall Skosan; Elton Jantjies‚ Ross Cronje; Ruan Vermaak‚ Cyle Brink‚ Marnus Schoeman; Marvin Orie‚ Rhyno Herbst; Carlu Sadie‚ Malcolm Marx (captain)‚ Sti Sithole


Jan-Henning Campher‚ Nathan McBeth‚ Frans van Wyk‚ Wilhelm van der Sluys‚ Stephan Lewies; Nic Groom‚ Hacjivah Dayimani‚ Sylvian Mahuza/Wandisile Simelane.


Curwin Bosch; Lwazi Mvovo‚ Lukhanyo Am‚ André Esterhuizen‚ Makazole Mapimpi; Robert du Preez‚ Louis Schreuder (captain); Dan du Preez‚ Jacques Vermeulen‚ Luke Stringer; Hyron Andrews‚ Ruben van Heerden; Coenie Oosthuizen‚ Kerron van Vuuren‚ Tendai Mtawarira


Fez Mbatha‚ Juan Schoeman‚ Thomas du Toit‚ JJ van der Mescht‚ Philip van der Walt; Grant Williams‚ Kobus van Wyk‚ Aphelele Fassi

Please allow a some time for the blog to load, some devices will experience a slight delay.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *