Tue. Sep 29th, 2020

Strong PSL flavour to Zimbabwe Afcon squad

Kaizer ChiefsZimbabwe retained much of the squad that helped them to a third-placed finish in the Cosafa Cup in Durban this week.

strong psl flavour to zimbabwe afcon squad 1024x683 - Strong PSL flavour to Zimbabwe Afcon squad

Khama Billiat 1200x800 - Strong PSL flavour to Zimbabwe Afcon squad

The Premier Soccer League is strongly represented in the Zimbabwe Afcon squad named on Sunday with 13 of the 23 currently playing in South Africa’s top flight.

Altogether 14 players play in South Africa with goalkeeper Edmore Sibanda plying his trade for Witbank Spurs in the NFD.

Three of the squad are part of a Golden Arrows side currently directed by Steve Khompela. Defender Divine Lunga, midfielder Danny Phiri and striker Knox Mutizwa join Zimbabwe’s cause from the ranks of Abafana Bes’thende.

Orlando Pirates and Kaizer Chiefs each have a brace of players selected to turn out for the Warriors at the 2019 edition of the African Cup of Nations. Amakhosi stalwarts Teenage Hadebe and Khama Billiat join Marshall Munetsi and Kudakwashe Mahachi.

Check out Bafana Bafana’s Afcon squad

Chiefs are looking to rebuild their squad after a mass clearout and will likely heavily scout the Afcon tournament. One player they might sign sight unseen is former Chiefs man Knowledge Musona. Musona is in the Zimbabwe squad and the striker is reportedly unsettled at Anderlecht and might consider a move back to the PSL.

The squad of 23 does not feature a single player based in the Zimbabwe Premier Soccer League.

The group is largely the same as the squad that finished third in the COSAFA Cup this week.

Zimbabwe Afcon squad:

Goalkeepers: George Chigova (Polokwane City), Elvis Chipezeze (Baroka), Edmore Sibanda (Witbank Spurs) 

Defenders: Teenage Hadebe (Kaizer Chiefs), Divine Lunga (Golden Arrows), Ronald Pfumbidzai (Bloemfontein Celtic), Tendai Darikwa (Nottingham Forest), Jimmy Dzingai (Power Dynamos), Alec Mudimu (CEFN Druids),  

Midfielders: Talent Chawapihwa (AmaZulu), Danny Phiri (Golden Arrows), Marshall Munetsi (Orlando Pirates), Marvelous Nakamba (Club Brugge), Tafadzwa Kutinyu (Azam), Ovidy Karuru (AmaZulu), Khama Billiat (Kaizer Chiefs), Kudakwashe Mahachi (Orlando Pirates), Thabani Kamusoko (Young Africans). 

Strikers: Knowledge Musona (Anderlecht), Nyasha Mushekwi (Dalian Yifang), Tinotenda Kadewere (Le Havre), Knox Mutizwa (Golden Arrows), Evans Rusike (SuperSport United)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *