Mon. Sep 28th, 2020

Rugby World Cup 2019: SA-born Jean Kleyn included in provisional Ireland squad

Ireland squadMunster Lock Jean Kleyn has been called into the Ireland squad for the first time despite only being eligible to play for them in September.

rugby world cup 2019 sa born jean kleyn included in provisional ireland squad 1024x697 - Rugby World Cup 2019: SA-born Jean Kleyn included in provisional Ireland squad

2622c586 jean kleyn 1200x817 - Rugby World Cup 2019: SA-born Jean Kleyn included in provisional Ireland squad

Ireland have named a provisional 44-man training squad ahead of this year’s Rugby World Cup in Japan including uncapped SA-born lock Jean Kleyn.

Kleyn brings the number of South African-born talents in the squad to three with CJ Stander and Rob Herring also in the group.

The former Matie will only qualify to represent Ireland in September, only just in time to be in the frame for the World Cup.

READ – Fiji name provisional World Cup squad

The only other uncapped player in the Ireland group if English-born fullback Michael Haley. Haley was called up to the England squad in 2016 but has only played for the England Saxons, which means he can still represent Ireland as a full international.

Dan Leavy and  Sean O’Brien were not considered for selection due to injury but could still make the final squad.

“The provinces have done a great job throughout the season with all four of them being involved in two sets of playoffs,” said coach Joe Schmidt.

“There were some very close calls in selection and it’s always a challenging process because the coaching group are very conscious of how hard the players work. It’s ideal that they get a good opportunity to relax for a few weeks before getting stuck into pre-season training and the busy “Guinness Series” in the lead up to the World Cup.

“Some players have missed out through injury and there are one or two guys that may be added to the squad at a later stage.”

Provisional Ireland squad:

Forwards – Finlay Bealham, Rory Best, Tadhg Beirne, Jack Conan, Sean Cronin, Ultan Dillane, Tadhg Furlong, Cian Healy, Iain Henderson, Rob Herring, Dave Kilcoyne, Jean Kleyn, Jack McGrath, Jordi Murphy, Tommy O’Donnell, Peter O’Mahony, Andrew Porter,Rhys Ruddock, James Ryan, John Ryan, Niall Scannell, CJ Stander, Devin Toner, Josh van der Flier. 

Backs – Bundee Aki, Ross Byrne, Joey Carbery, Jack Carty, Andrew Conway, John Cooney, Keith Earls, Chris Farrell, Mike Haley, Robbie Henshaw, Dave Kearney, Rob Kearney, Jordan Larmour, Kieran Marmion, Luke McGrath, Conor Murray,Garry Ringrose, Rory Scannell, Jonathan Sexton, Jacob Stockdale.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *