Mon. Sep 21st, 2020

PSL 2019/20 season start date confirmed

psl 2019/20The start date for both the PSL and the MTN 8 in the 2019/20 season was revealed on Wednesday morning.

psl 2019 20 season start date confirmed 1024x576 - PSL 2019/20 season start date confirmed

4b5d892f 5 mamelodi sundowns 2018 19 title - PSL 2019/20 season start date confirmed

Just a little over a week after the 16 teams who will compete in the PSL 2019/20 season were confirmed, that start date was revealed on Wednesday morning.

Mamelodi Sundowns will be chasing a record tenth league title, and a third in a row, while newbies Stellenbosch FC will be contesting in their first ever season in the top flight.

As was the case in the previous campaign, the action kicks off on the first weekend of August once more, with the season’s first cup competition, the MTN 8 taking centre stage the following week.

Friday, 2 August is the date where the first PSL fixture kicks off, followed by more matches on Saturday.

The likes of Kaizer Chiefs then sit out the weekend of 9 August as focus shifts to the MTN 8.

The season will see Amakhosi, along with rivals Orlando Pirates, looking to end their trophy-less runs – having last picked up silverware in 2015 and 2014 respectively -while the likes of Cape Town City, Bidvest Wits and Supersport United also expected to be among title contenders.

Dark horses in the league title race include the ever-improving Highlands Park, who earned a top-eight finish on their return to the top-flight, while Bloemfontein Celtic should also not be discounted after fighting through boardroom turmoil to finish in the top half.

Teams like AmaZulu and Lamontville Golden Arrows will be looking to improve on what was an indifferent campaign, with glimpses of brilliance for both, while Polokwane City will be eager to prove their fifth-place finish was no fluke, despite having parted ways with their head coach.

Another club with a point to prove will be Maritzburg United, who came within an inch of relegation, and will be looking to carry the winning momentum gained in the latter stages of the season, as they look to rebuild in their first full season under coach Eric Tinkler.

PSL 2019/20 competing teams



Bidvest Wits

Black Leopards

Bloemfontein Celtic

Cape Town City

Chippa United

Highlands Park

Kaizer Chiefs

Lamontville Golden Arrows

Mamelodi Sundowns

Maritzburg United

Orlando Pirates

Polokwane City

Stellenbosch FC

Supersport United

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *