Sun. Jul 12th, 2020

Pieter-Steph du Toit dominates Player’s Choice Awards [video]

South Africa’s professional Rugby players honoured their best at the Player’s Choice Awards where Pieter-Steph du Toit was the big winner.

pieter steph du toit dominates players choice awards video 1024x683 - Pieter-Steph du Toit dominates Player’s Choice Awards [video]

World Rugby Player of the year Pieter-Steph du Toit scooped three gongs at the Player’s Choice awards in Johannesburg on Tuesday.

Du Toit took home the top honour of the night being voted as the Players’ Player of the Year. He also picked up the Defender of the Year and Forward of the year awards.

Pieter-Steph du Toit – The best of the best

The flanker beat out fellow Rugby World Cup winners Duane Vermeulen, Schalk Brits and Cheslin Kolbe to the flagship award of the evening voted by professional rugby players.

f1e6195c 000 1lx8za - Pieter-Steph du Toit dominates Player’s Choice Awards [video]
South Africa’s flanker Pieter-Steph Du Toit celebrates winning the Japan 2019 Rugby World Cup final match between England and South Africa at the International Stadium Yokohama in Yokohama on November 2, 2019. (Photo by Anne-Christine POUJOULAT / AFP)

Springbok hooker Malcolm Marx won the award in 2018 while Skipper Siya Kolisi received the honour at the inaugural awards in 2017.

Kolbe was named backline player of the year beating out Herschel Jantjies who bagged two awards on the night. Jantjies was named Best Off The Bench and won the #LoveChange award for the most improved player. Jantjies was nominated for World Rugby’s breakthrough player of the year but lost out to French flyhalf Romain Ntamack.

Bulls and Blitzboks winger Rosko Specman was named the Fan’s Player of the year.

South African rugby players’ organisation MyPlayers administered the voting process.

The players organisation also announced a R70 000 donation to the Chris Burger Petro Jackson Players’ Fund. The fund supports rugby players who have sustained catastrophic head, neck or spinal cord injuries while on the field.

“Playing the Bounce is all about embracing the ever-changing nature of rugby, and of life,” said Executive Director at BrightRock Suzanne Stevens.

“That’s why BrightRock is so excited to be involved with the awards for a third year. The concept of being empowered to navigate – and celebrate – change is central to our needs-matched life insurance, which is uniquely designed to change with clients as their needs change over their lifetime.”

Player Awards Winners

The Players’ Player of the Year

Pieter-Steph du Toit 

Nominees: Duane Vermeulen, Schalk Brits, Cheslin Kolbe

Defender of the Year

Pieter-Steph du Toit 

Nominees: Franco Mostert, Lukhanyo Am, Damian de Allende

Forward Player of the Year

Pieter-Steph du Toit

Nominees: Tendai “Beast” Mtawarira, Trevor Nyakane, RG Snyman 

Backline Player of the Year

Cheslin Kolbe

Nominees: George Whitehead, Rabz Maxwane, Herschel Jantjies

Best off the Bench

Herschel Jantjies 

Nominees: Steven Kitshoff, Bongani Mbonambi, Selvyn Davids

The #LoveChange Award (For the most-improved player over the past year – a true change agent on his way up)

Herschel Jantjies

Nominees: Joseph Dweba, Tyrone Green, Kurt-Lee Arendse

BrightRock Fan’s Choice Award 

Rosko Specman (nominated charity – Be The Difference Foundation)

Nominees: Scarra Ntubeni (Newborns Trust), Chris Dry (Zanokhanyo Children’s Safety House), Rabz Maxwane (King William’s Town Youth Care Centre)

Rewatch the Player’s Choice awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *