Sun. Sep 27th, 2020

Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr names his 23-man Afcon squad

Nigeria Afcon squadNigeria have trimmed their 25-man provisional squad down to 23 and are ready to head to Egypt in search of a fourth continental crown.

nigeria coach gernot rohr names his 23 man afcon squad 1024x683 - Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr names his 23-man Afcon squad

0561f453 john obi mikel 1200x800 - Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr names his 23-man Afcon squad

Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr has named his final Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) Squad of 23, trimming the group from 25 names.

Leicester City striker Kelechi Iheanacho and Rotherham United midfielder Semi Ajayi were the two players axed from the provisional squad.

Having failed to qualify for the 2015 and 2017 tournaments, Nigeria understandably lack experience of Afcon tournament play, with 20 of their squad set to make their first appearance.

John Obi Mikel, Ahmed Musa and Kenneth Omeruo can put Nigeria’s golden generation in the shade if they are able to help the Super Eagles to a fourth Africa Cup of Nations title in Egypt. Obi Mikel skippers the side in what could be one of his final major tournaments.

Kaizer Chiefs stopper Daniel Akpeyi is among the goalkeepers in a Super Eagles squad that assembles from across the globe.

Villareal winger Samuel Chukwueze is reportedly on the radar for a few of the Premier League’s elite and could be one to watch in this group.

The squad have come together in a training camp in Ismailia and will play a final warm-up game against Senegal on Sunday after their goalless draw with Zimbabwe on Saturday in Asaba.

Nigeria open their Afcon campaign on June 22 against debutants Burundi in the port city of Alexandria.

Guinea and Madagascar are the other teams in their group.

Nigeria Afcon squad

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta/CYP), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United), Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs/RSA)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino/ITA), Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor/TUR), Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor/TUR), William Ekong (Udinese/ITA), Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion/ENG), Kenneth Omeruo (Leganes/ESP), Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07/GER)

Midfielders: John Obi Mikel (Middlesbrough/ENG), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City/ENG), Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City/ENG), John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva/ISR)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nasser/KSA), Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi/BEL), Moses Simon (Levante/ESP), Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray/TUR), Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua/CHN), Alexander Iwobi (Arsenal/ENG), Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux/FRA), Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland/DEN), Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal/ESP)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *