Tue. Jan 19th, 2021

Manchester City join elite club by retaining Premier League title

Manchester City have become the first side to retain the Premier League title this decade after an emphatic victory over Brighton on the final day.

manchester city join elite club by retaining premier league title 1024x683 - Manchester City join elite club by retaining Premier League title

1bec4825 000 1gd9j2 1200x800 - Manchester City join elite club by retaining Premier League title

Manchester City became just the third club to achieve the feat of retaining the Premier League title in back to back years.

They join Manchester United, who achieved the feat on multiple occasions, including two runs of three successive titles, and Chelsea who retained the title in 2005/6 after winning their first in 2004/5.

In recent times the competitive nature of the Premier League has prevented any team from repeating and the milestone has not been attained in this decade.

Since 2015 every side that has been crowned winners of the Premier League has failed to finish in the top four the following season let alone actually defend the crown.

Under Sir Alex Ferguson Manchester United held an unprecedented dominance over the world’s most popular league and his club were almost always guaranteed to finish in the top three if not win the title but now there are six teams with realistic title ambitions, driving each other to new heights and ensuring the pressure to improve remains constant.

City are the only team to finish in the top four every season since the end of the 2010/11 campaign having last failed to crack the Champions League places before winning the title for the first time.

In their last bid at back-to-back titles City failed finishing eight points behind Chelsea in the 2014/15 season.

Premier League winners by season

Season Winners
1992–93 Manchester United
1993–94 Manchester United 
1994–95 Blackburn Rovers
1995–96 Manchester United 
1996–97 Manchester United
1997–98 Arsenal 
1998–99 Manchester United 
1999–2000 Manchester United
2000–01 Manchester United
2001–02 Arsenal 
2002–03 Manchester United
2003–04 Arsenal
2004–05 Chelsea
2005–06 Chelsea
2006–07 Manchester United
2007–08 Manchester United
2008–09 Manchester United
2009–10 Chelsea 
2010–11 Manchester United
2011–12 Manchester City
2012–13 Manchester United
2013–14 Manchester City
2014–15 Chelsea
2015–16 Leicester City
2016–17 Chelsea
2017–18 Manchester City
2018-19 Manchester City

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *