Fri. Aug 23rd, 2019

Jaco Peyper only South African ref on Rugby World Cup officials panel

Jaco Peyper Rugby World CupWorld Rugby have named the 12 officials who will take charge of 2019 Rugby World Cup matches in Japan.

jaco peyper only south african ref on rugby world cup officials panel 1024x683 - Jaco Peyper only South African ref on Rugby World Cup officials panel

5cb1cf9c jaco peyper 1200x800 - Jaco Peyper only South African ref on Rugby World Cup officials panel

Jaco Peyper will be the sole representative of South African referees at the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan with the full list of officials confirmed.

Compatriot Marius Jonker will be on the team as a Television Match Official, a role that has seen increasing specialization in recent times.

Peyper officiated at the 2015 tournament where the now retired Craig Joubert was also a referee. Joubert refereed the 2011 final, following in the footsteps of arguably South Africa’s most famous referee Andre Watson. Watson twice took charge of the World Cup final, a record that could be equalled in 2019.

Welshman Nigel Owens, who took charge of the 2015 final, and England’s Wayne Barnes will officiate in their fourth Rugby World Cup after being named Tuesday among the 12-strong group of referees.

French referees Jerome Garces and Romain Poite have been retained from the 2015 panel while countryman Mathieu Raynal has been promoted from the assistant referee role he performed in 2015.

The match officials were selected by World Rugby’s Match Official Selection Committee following a comprehensive review of performances and fitness.

World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said: “Just like for the players and coaches, Rugby World Cup represents the pinnacle of a match official’s career and I would like to congratulate the team of 12 referees, seven assistant referees and four TMOs who have achieved selection today through their hard work, commitment and dedication to excellence.

“Put simply, without the match officials there would be no rugby and I am proud of the leading position that our sport enjoys in terms of the mutual respect and values displayed between match officials, players and all those involved in the game.”

Anthony Buchanan, World Rugby’s Match Official Selection Committee Chairman, added:

“This selection was made on merit, on form and after a comprehensive process. With so much strength in depth, the panel was left with some tough decisions to be made across all areas. I would like to pay tribute to all the individuals involved in the process and congratulate the ‘Team 21’ squad who have been selected for Japan 2019.

“Since Rugby World Cup 2015, we have been focused on developing a strong team ethic among the group of match officials while bringing through the next generation of test officials with regular meetings and workshops to share best practice and experiences. The group selected for Rugby World Cup 2019 contains a strong mix of experience and proven young talent and we have every confidence that they will be well prepared and ready to perform at the highest possible level at Japan 2019.”

Rugby World Cup 2019 officials

Referees (12): Wayne Barnes (England), Luke Pearce (England), Jerome Garces (France), Romain Poite (France), Pascal Gauzere (France), Mathieu Raynal (France), Nigel Owens (Wales), Jaco Peyper (South Africa), Ben O’Keeffe (New Zealand), Paul Williams (New Zealand), Nic Berry (Australia), Angus Gardner (Australia)

Assistant referees (seven): Matthew Carley (England, reserve referee), Karl Dickson (England), Andrew Brace (Ireland), Brendon Pickerill (New Zealand), Federico Anselmi (Argentina), Shuhei Kubo (Japan), Alex Ruiz (France)

Television match officials (four): Graham Hughes (England), Rowan Kitt (England), Ben Skeen (New Zealand) and Marius Jonker (South Africa)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *