Fri. Jan 22nd, 2021

Everything you need to know about the Waratahs vs Sharks

beastThe Waratahs will play their first of three home games at the newly unveiled Bankwest Stadium against the Sharks this weekend.

everything you need to know about the waratahs vs sharks 1024x695 - Everything you need to know about the Waratahs vs Sharks

bf1f976d tendai mtawarira 1200x814 - Everything you need to know about the Waratahs vs Sharks

The Waratahs will take on the Sharks at the newly unveiled Bankwest Stadium in Western Sydney this weekend.

After the Sharks lost against the Reds and Jaguares, Head coach Robert du Preez, reflected on what needs to change for this match.

He pinpointed the dual processes of individual errors and execution against the Reds as proving costly.

“That was a game that could have gone either way. We conceded two really soft tries that came through individual errors, so it’s not a system issue. On attack, we had two clear chances to score tries and didn’t execute them, and some others too. It comes down to execution at the end of the day.”

“We have a very strong playing 23 with a really solid bench and we’re looking forward to a strong showing against the Waratahs.”

Waratahs team and injury news

After a solid win over the Rebels last weekend, the Waratahs have named a relatively unchanged side with Curtis Rona to start on the wing, and Tolu Latu returning to the squad and set to come off the bench.

Waratahs: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Cam Clark, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Karmichael Hunt, 11 Curtis Rona, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Jake Gordon, 8 Michael Wells, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 6 Jack Dempsey, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Jed Holloway, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Damien Fitzpatrick, 1 Harry Johnson-Holmes

Substitutes: 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Rory O’Connor, 18 Chris Talakai, 19 Tom Staniforth, 20 Lachlan Swinton 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Lalakai Foketi, 23 Alex Newsome

Sharks team and injury news

There are six changes to the starting line-up to the Sharks team.

Ruan Botha and Akker van der Merwe return to the bench this week, while Thomas du Toit comes in for Coenie Oosthuizen. Jean-Luc du Preez replaces Jacques Vermeulen.

In the backline, Cameron Wright will start to give Louis Schreuder a hard-earned rest (although he is selected on the bench), forming a new half-back partnership with Curwin Bosch who starts at flyhalf with Robert du Preez playing off the bench.

Makazole Mapimpi will stand in for Lwazi Mvovo on the wing while Lukhanyo Am replaces Kobus van Wyk, who is back after a week’s mandatory rest.

Sharks: 15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 S’bu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Cameron Wright, 8 Daniel du Preez, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Philip van der Walt, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Tendai Mtawarira (c)

Substitutes: 16 Akker van der Merwe, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Ruan Botha, 20 Jacques Vermeulen, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Robert du Preez, 23 Marius Louw

Kick off time

Saturday, 27 April at 11:45 (SAST).

TV & Live Stream

The game will be broadcast live on SuperSport 1 (SS1).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *