Mon. Sep 21st, 2020

Everything you need to know about the Jaguares vs Sharks

curwin bosch sharks lions super rugby 2019The Sharks are in Argentina for their clash against the Jaguares.

everything you need to know about the jaguares vs sharks 1024x853 - Everything you need to know about the Jaguares vs Sharks

TL 1568057 1200x1000 - Everything you need to know about the Jaguares vs Sharks

The Sharks will take on the Jaguares in a second round, return leg Super Rugby derby clash at the Jose Amalfitani Stadium in Buenos Aires on Saturday evening.

The clash is said to be crucial as the Jaguares are currently sitting on top of the South African conference. A huge effort in the final fortnight of the pool stages of the competition will secure a top-eight finish and a place in the playoffs.

There is no shortage of motivation for the Sharks side that knows they have two weeks to deliver all-or-nothing performances to secure a place in the knock-out rounds.

“We all know we need to win the next two to make the playoffs and the boys are very encouraged to produce the goods; we’re very motivated to go win these next two games,” said Dan du Preez.

Jaguares team and injury news

There are nine changes to the Jaguares team that beat the Reds last weekend 34-23.

According to SA Rugby Magazine, Jeronimo de la Fuente has returned to the starting lineup while Emiliano Boffelli will start at fullback in place of Juan Cruz Mallía and is joined in the back three by Sebastian Cancelliere and Santiago Carreras, who shifts from the right to the left wing.

Joaquín Díaz Bonilla retains his place at flyhalf, but will form the halfback partnership with Tomás Cubelli, who replaces Felipe Ezcurra.

There are a further five changes to the pack as both Juan Manuel Leguizamón and Pablo Matera come into the loose trio. Marcos Kremer partners Tomás Lavanini in the second row, while Santiago Medrano and Mayco Vivas flank Agustin Creevy in the front row.

Jaguares: 15 Emiliano Boffelli, 14 Sebastian Cancelliere, 13 Matías Moroni, 12 Jeronimo de la Fuente (c), 11 Santiago Carreras, 10 Joaquín Díaz Bonilla, 9 Tomás Cubelli, 8 Javier Ortega Desio, 7 Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Marcos Kremer, 3 Santiago Medrano, 2 Agustín Creevy, 1 Mayco Vivas

Substitutes: 16 Julián Montoya, 17 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 18 Enrique Pieretto, 19 Lucas Paulos, 20 Francisco Gorrisen, 21 Felipe Ezcurra, 22 Domingo Miotti, 23 Matias Orlando

Sharks team and injury news

Head coach Robert du Preez has made a few changes to the side, with Hyron Andrews and Tyler Paul starting amongst the forwards and Robert du Preez coming in at flyhalf with Curwin Bosch named at fullback.

Sharks: 15 Curwin Bosch, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Rob du Preez, 9 Louis Schreuder (c), 8 Dan du Preez, 7 Tyler Paul, 6 Jacques Vermeulen, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Hyron Andrews, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Mzamo Majola

Substitutes: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 Thomas du Toit, 19 Ruben van Heerden, 20 Luke Stringer, 21 Zee Mkhabela, 22 Jeremy Ward, 23 Aphelele Fassi

Kick off time

Saturday, 8 June at 21:40 (SAST).

TV & Live Stream

The game will be broadcast live on SuperSport 1 (SS1).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *