Tue. May 26th, 2020

English Premier League: Teams with the most titles

The English Premier League football trophy is pictured before the English Premier League football match between Manchester City and Huddersfield Town at the Etihad Stadium in Manchester, north west England, on May 6, 2018. (Photo by Oli SCARFF / AFP) / RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE. No use with unauthorized audio, video, data, fixture lists, club/league logos or 'live' services. Online in-match use limited to 75 images, no video emulation. No use in betting, games or single club/league/player publications. /Six different teams have hoisted the English Premier League trophy aloft.

english premier league teams with the most titles 1024x683 - English Premier League: Teams with the most titles

9c9cfa34 000 14l2t4 1200x800 - English Premier League: Teams with the most titles

The 2018/19 of the English Premier League (EPL) draws to a close on Sunday, wit Manchester City eyeing their fourth title while staving off the challenge of Liverpool who are chasing their maiden crown.

With 37 matches played all around, the Sky Blues are only one point clear at the top, and conclude their season against Brighton and Hove Albion, while the Reds finish off against the Wolves.

Six different teams have won the Premier League, with Manchester United well ahead with a record 13 titles, although they look further away from their next triumph than they are from their last, which came in 2013.

There have also been a couple of one season wonders – Blackburn Rovers disturbing Sir Alex Ferguson’s early dominance in the competition’s third season by claiming the 1994/95 crown, as well as Claudio Ranieri’s Leicester City shithousing their way to glory in the 2015/16 season, just two seasons after gaining promotion from the Championship.

Chelsea, Arsenal and, of course, City are the three other teams who have claimed English football’s biggest prize, with the blues from London sitting on five crowns, while their city rivals and the blue side of Manchester are tied on three titles.

Most EPL titles since 1992

Manchester United – 13 (1992/93, 1993/94, 1995/96, 1996/97, 1998/99, 1999/2000, 2000/01, 2002/03, 2006/07, 2007/08, 2008/09, 2010/11, 2012/13)

Chelsea – 5 (2004/05, 2005/06, 2009/10, 2014/15, 2016/17)

Arsenal – 3 (1997/98, 2001/02, 2003/04)

Manchester City – 3 (2011/12, 2013/14, 2017/18)

Blackburn Rovers – 1 (1994/95)

Leicester City – 1 (2015/16)

Premier League champions

2017/18: Manchester City

2016/17: Chelsea

2015/16: Leicester City

2014/15: Chelsea

2013/14: Manchester City

2012/13: Manchester United

2011/12: Manchester City

2010/11: Manchester United

2009/10: Chelsea

2008/09: Manchester United

2007/08: Manchester United

2006/07: Manchester United

2005/06: Chelsea

2004/05: Chelsea

2003/04: Arsenal

2002/03: Manchester United

2001/02: Arsenal

2000/01: Manchester United

1999/00: Manchester United

1998/99: Manchester United

1997/98: Arsenal

1996/97: Manchester United

1995/96: Manchester United

1994/95: Blackburn Rovers

1993/94: Manchester United

1992/93: Manchester United

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *