Tue. Sep 29th, 2020

Bafana suffer another setback to Afcon prep as Angola cancels friendly

BAFANA BAFANA AFCON SQUADBafana face danger of going into Afcon undercooked after Angola pulled out of friendly match.

bafana suffer another setback to afcon prep as angola cancels friendly 1024x775 - Bafana suffer another setback to Afcon prep as Angola cancels friendly

a287f8b1 g030918b0034 1200x908 - Bafana suffer another setback to Afcon prep as Angola cancels friendly

The practice match between Bafana Bafana and Angola, which was scheduled for Wednesday afternoon, will not get underway after the latter cancelled, citing “lack of training”.

The two sides were due to meet in Cairo in what would have been Bafana’s second and final friendly before starting their Afcon campaign on Monday.

However, their opponents pulled out of the fixture after arriving in Egypt only two days prior.

“We are disappointed and frustrated. We had arranged this match three weeks ago and Angola confirmed everything in writing,” Bafana team manager Barney Kujane said.

“We even had a meeting with their technical staff at our hotel yesterday, (Tuesday, 18 June) afternoon in which both teams reconfirmed the match and agreed on the rules of the practice game.

Barney Kujane

The 2019 Afcon gets underway on Friday, with hosts Egypt taking on Zimbabwe in the opening match.

South Africa kick off their campaign against two-time winners Ivory Coast, who they have been drawn with in a tough Group D alongside Morocco and Namibia.

Stuart Baxter’s men arrived in Egypt on Monday, and will now go into the tournament with only one friendly under their belt, having played to a goalless draw against Ghana in Dubai over the weekend.

Bafana Bafana squad for Afcon 2019

Goalkeepers: Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs).

Defenders: Daniel Cardoso (Chiefs), Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Chiefs), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Wits), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates) S’fiso Hlanti (Wits), Buhle Mkhwanazi (Wits), Thamsanqa Mkhize (Cape Town City FC).

Midfielders: Bongani Zungu (Amiens SC), Dean Furman (SuperSport), Kamohelo Mokotjo (Brentford FC), Tiyani Mabunda (Sundowns), Thulani Serero (SBV Vitesse), Thembinkosi Lorch (Pirates), Themba Zwane (Sundowns), Hlompho Kekana (Sundowns).

Strikers: Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg), Percy Tau (Royal Union Saint Gilloise), Lars Veldwijk (Sparta), Lebogang Maboe (Sundowns), Sibusiso Vilakazi (Sundowns).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *