Sun. Sep 27th, 2020

Bafana Bafana: Stuart Baxter names final Afcon squad

BAFANA BAFANA AFCON SQUADThere were no major surprises as Stuart Baxter announced his 23-man Bafana Bafana squad for the 2019 Afcon tournament.

bafana bafana stuart baxter names final afcon squad 1024x787 - Bafana Bafana: Stuart Baxter names final Afcon squad

a287f8b1 g030918b0034 1200x922 - Bafana Bafana: Stuart Baxter names final Afcon squad

Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter has announced the final squad that will be taking part in the 2019 Afcon tournament in Egypt.

Bafana return to the competition, having missed out on the previous edition, and have been drawn in Group D alongside Ivory Coast, Morocco and Namibia.

After announcing a 30-man preliminary squad in May, the Brit has trimmed it down to 23 players.

There were no major surprises as two players who did not make the training camp, Nikola Tavares and Joel Untersee were not included, alongside Mamelodi Sundowns’ Rivaldo Coetzee, who was ruled out of selection under controversial circumstances earlier in the week.

Another player who was not included is Montpellier winger Keagan Dolly, who pulled out due to a groin injury after turning out for Bafana in the Cosafa Cup.

Out of the 26 players present at the camp, Orlando Pirates midfielder Ben Motshwari did not make the squad, alongside Buccaneers-bound Fortune Makaringe, while Cape Town City striker Kermit Erasmus also missed out.

Bafana Bafana 2019 Afcon squad

Goalkeepers: Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs).

Defenders: Daniel Cardoso (Chiefs), Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Chiefs), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Wits), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates) S’fiso Hlanti (Wits), Buhle Mkhwanazi (Wits), Thamsanqa Mkhize (Cape Town City FC).

Midfielders: Bongani Zungu (Amiens SC), Dean Furman (SuperSport), Kamohelo Mokotjo (Brentford FC), Tiyani Mabunda (Sundowns), Thulani Serero (SBV Vitesse), Thembinkosi Lorch (Pirates), Themba Zwane (Sundowns), Hlompho Kekana (Sundowns).

Strikers: Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg), Percy Tau (Royal Union Saint Gilloise), Lars Veldwijk (Sparta), Lebogang Maboe (Sundowns), Sibusiso Vilakazi (Sundowns).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *