Mon. Sep 28th, 2020

Bafana Bafana squad for 2019 Cosafa Cup revealed

Thulani Hlatshwayo of Bafana Bafana during the match between South Africa and Nigeria at FNB Stadium in Johannesburg, South Africa. Photo: Lee Warren/Gallo Images Bafana BafanaA largely inexperienced Bafana Bafana squad has been named ahead of the 2019 Cosafa Cup tournament.

bafana bafana squad for 2019 cosafa cup revealed 1024x853 - Bafana Bafana squad for 2019 Cosafa Cup revealed

TW 0167731 1200x1000 - Bafana Bafana squad for 2019 Cosafa Cup revealed

A 23-man Bafana Bafana squad that will do duty in the 2019 Cosafa Cup was named on Tuesday morning.

The competition kicks off on Saturday, 25 May with David Notoane set tostand in as Bafana coach in place of Stuart Baxter, who is busy with preparations for the upcoming Afcon 2019 tournament.

The squad is made up largely of inexperienced players and does not include many of the regulars in the national setup, with Keegan Dolly perhaps one of the more high-profile names jotted in among four overseas-based players.

There is a decent smattering of players plying their trade in the National First Division, with Nedbank Cup hero Zakhele Lepasa from TS Galaxy also included alongside Ajax Cape Town duo Grant Magerman and Darren Johnson as well as Richards Bay FC defender Sandile Mthethwa.

Also included is Supersport United midfielder Teboho Mokoena, who walked away with the Young Player of the Year award at the PSL Awards on Sunday, as well as Mamelodi Sundowns starlet Phakamani Mahlambi.

South Africa open their campaign in the quarterfinal stage against Botswana at Princess Magogo Stadium in Durban on Saturday, 1 June.

Bafana Bafana Squad for 2019 COSAFA Cup

Goalkeepers: Mondli Mpoto (Bloemfontein Celtic), Darren Johnson (Ajax Cape Town), Reyaad Pieterse (Mamelodi Sundowns).

Defenders: Thendo Mukumela (Ajax), Keanu Cupido (Cape Town ), Reeve Frosler (Chiefs), Tercious Malepe (Chippa), Katlego Mohamme (SuperSport), Bongani Sam (Celtic), Sandile Mthethwa (Richards Bay)

Midfielders: Teboho Mokoena (Supersport) , Athenkosi Dlala (Supersport) , Kegan Dolly (Montpellier), Sipho Mbule (Supersport), Kamohelo Mahlatsi (Supersport) Grant Margeman (Ajax), Jamie Webber (Supersport) Kgaogelo Sekgota (Vitoria Setubal, (Portugal).

Strikers: Phakamani Mahlambi (Sundowns), Zakhele Lepasa (TS Galaxy), Jemondre Dickens (Baroka ), Luther Singh (GD Chaves, Portugal), Liam Jordan (Koge FC, Denmark).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *