Wed. Jan 20th, 2021

Afcon 2019: Egypt, DR Congo, Uganda and Zimbabwe – squads, fixtures and results

afcon group a squads fixtures and resultsThe 2019 edition of the Africa Cup of Nations promises many delights. Here you can catch up with the latest news, fixtures and results from Group A, featuring hosts Egypt, Uganda, DR Congo and Zimbabwe.

afcon 2019 egypt dr congo uganda and zimbabwe squads fixtures and results 1024x576 - Afcon 2019: Egypt, DR Congo, Uganda and Zimbabwe – squads, fixtures and results

61ecf744 07649496 1200x675 - Afcon 2019: Egypt, DR Congo, Uganda and Zimbabwe – squads, fixtures and results


As Egypt prepare to stage the Cup of Nations a record fifth
time, they can draw confidence from an outstanding record when they play host
to the best African national teams.   

They won in 1959, 1986 and 2006 and finished third in 1974
after coming up short in a five-goal semi-final thriller against World
Cup-bound Zaire (now DR Congo).

Fanatical support has always been a key factor with numerous
visiting coaches complaining that the endless noise from the stands prevents
their touchline instructions being heard.


Goalkeepers: Mahmoud ‘Genesh’ Abdelrahim (Zamalek), Mohamed
el Shenawy (Al Ahly), Ahmed al Shennawy (Pyramids)

Defenders: Mahmoud Alaa, Mahmoud Hamdy (both Zamalek), Omar
Gaber, Ahmed Ayman Mansour (both Pyramids), Ayman Ashraf (Ahly), Ahmed
Elmohamady (Aston Villa/ENG), Baher el Mohamady (Ismaily), Ahmed Hegazi (West
Bromwich Albion/ENG)

Midfielders: Nabil Emad Donga (Pyramids), Mohamed Elneny
(Arsenal/ENG), Ali Ahmed Ghazal (Feirense/POR), Tarek Hamed (Zamalek), Mahmoud
‘Trezeguet’ Hassan (Kasimpasa/TUR), Abdullah al-Saeed (Pyramids), Waleed
Soliman (Ahly), Amr Warda (Atromitos/GRE)

Forwards: Ahmed Ali Kamel (Al Mokawloon), Ahmed Hassan Kouka
(Olympiakos/GRE), Marwan Mohsen (Ahly), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool/ENG)

DR Congo

The two-time champions struggled to qualify with a nervous
1-0 last-match win over modest Liberia in Kinshasa squeezing them through as runners-up
beneath Zimbabwe.

An experienced squad, the Congolese are extremely
unpredictable when it comes to the Cup of Nations as their last two appearances

Outsiders in 2015, they finished third behind the Ivory Coast and Ghana in Equatorial Guinea, then made a timid last-eight exit two years ago in Gabon when more was expected of them.


Goalkeepers: Parfait Mandanda (Dinamo Bucharest/ROM), Ley Matampi (Al Ansar/KSA), Anthony Mossi (Chiasso/SUI)

Defenders: Glody Ngonda, Djuma Shabani (both V Club), Christian Luyindama (Galatasaray/TUR), Arthur Masuaku (West Ham/ENG), Wilfred Moke (Ankaragucu/TUR), Issama Mpeko (TP Mazembe), Marcell Tisserand (Wolfsburg/GER), Bobo Ungenda (Primeiro Agosto/ANG)

Midfielders: Merveille Bope, Paul-Jose Mpoku (both Standard Liege/BEL), Jacques Maghoma (Birmingham City/ENG), Chancel Mbemba (Porto/POR), Tresor Mputu (Mazembe), Youssouf Mulumbu (Kilmarnock/SCO)

Forwards: Chadrack Akolo (Stuttgart/GER), Britt Assombalanga (Middlesbrough/ENG), Cedric Bakambu (Beijing Guoan/CHN), Yannick Bolasie (Everton/ENG), Jonathan Bolingi (Antwerp/BEL), Elia Meschak (Mazembe)


The lowest ranked of the four teams will rely heavily on
stars based in South Africa as they aim to progress beyond the group stage for
the first time in four attempts.

But the reliance of coach and former national team captain
Sunday Chidzambwa on those operating in their neighbouring country has drawn
criticism from a former star.


Goalkeepers: George Chigova (Polokwane City/RSA), Elvis
Chipezeze (Baroka/RSA), Edmore Sibanda (Witbank Spurs/RSA)

Defenders: Tendayi Darikwa (Nottingham Forest/ENG), Jimmy
Dzingai (Power Dynamos/ZAM), Teenage Hadebe (Kaizer Chiefs/RSA), Divine Lunga
(Golden Arrows/RSA), Alec Mudimu (CEFN Druids/WAL), Ronald Pfumbidzai
(Bloemfontein Celtic/RSA)

Midfielders: Talent Chawapiwa, Ovidy Karuru (both
AmaZulu/RSA), Khama Billiat (Kaizer Chiefs/RSA), Thabani Kamusoko (Young
Africans/TAN), Tafadzwa Kutinyu (Azam/TAN), Kudakwashe Mahachi (Orlando
Pirates/RSA), Marshall Munetsi (Reims/FRA), Marvellous Nakamba (Club
Brugge/BEL), Danny Phiri (Golden Arrows/RSA)

Forwards: Tinotenda Kadewere (Le Havre/FRA), Nyasha Mushekwi
(Dalian Yifang/CHN), Knowledge Musona (Lokeren/BEL), Knox Mutizwa (Golden
Arrows/RSA), Evans Rusike (SuperSport Utd/RSA)


After going 39 years without qualifying since finishing 1978
runners-up to hosts Ghana, Uganda will make back-to-back appearances in the Cup
of Nations.

They had a comfortable qualifying passage under French coach
Sebastien Desabre, not losing nor conceding in five matches before a
dead-rubber defeat in Tanzania.

Winless in Gabon two years ago, the Cranes are banking on
veteran South Africa-based goalkeeper Denis Onyango to inspire a better showing
this time.


Goalkeepers: Jamal Salim Magoola (Al Hilal/SUD), Robert
Odongkara (Adama City/ETH), Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns/RSA)

Defenders: Timothy Awanyi (KCCA), Murushid Juuko
(Simba/TAN), Isaac Muleme (Viktoria Zizkov/CZE), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda
(unattached), Bevis Mugabi (Yeovil Town/ENG), Ronald Mukiibi (Ostersunds/SWE),
Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe/COD), Nicholas Wadada (Azam/TAN), Godfrey Walusimbi

Midfielders: Khalid Aucho (Church Hill Brothers/IND),
Michael Azira (Montreal Impact/CAN), Allan Kateregga (Maritzburg Utd/RSA),
William Kizito Luwagga (Shakhter Karagandy/KAZ), Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers), Farouk
Miya (Gorica/CRO), Emmanuel Okwi (Simba/TAN)

Forwards: Patrick Kaddu, Allan Kyambadde (both KCCA), Lumala
Abdu (Syrianska/SWE), Derrick Nsibambi (Smouha/EGY)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *