Tue. Sep 29th, 2020

Afcon 2019: All the PSL players in this year’s tournament

Afcon 2019A total of 46 PSL players and four from the NFD will be on show at the Afcon 2019 tournament in Egypt.

afcon 2019 all the psl players in this years tournament 1024x616 - Afcon 2019: All the PSL players in this year’s tournament

dbdb263f b19fsmn0320 1200x722 - Afcon 2019: All the PSL players in this year’s tournament

Local soccer fans should expect to see quite a few familiar faces during the course of the Afcon 2019 tournament, as squads across the board sport a decent PSL contingent.

All 24 participating nations have submitted their squads, with nine boasting at least one player plying his trade in South Africa, in either the top flight or the National First Division (NFD).

Out of the players in Egypt for the continental showpiece, a total of 50 represent clubs from these shores and, as expected, Bafana top the list with 17, followed closely by neighbours Zimbabwe who boast no less than 13, while Namibia has nine.

In terms of teams, Kaizer Chiefs is the most represented with seven players – three in the Bafana squad, two from Zim and one each at Nigeria and Madagascar.

PSL and NFD players at Afcon 2019

(*) Denotes NFD teams

Ghana: Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United)

Ivory Coast: Ali Badra Sangare (Free State Stars*)

Namibia: Max Mbaeva (Arrows), Larry Horaeb (Baroka), Denzil Haoseb (Highlands), Ananias Gebhardt (Baroka), Riaan Hanamub (Cosmos*), Deon Hotto (Wits), Joslyn Kamatuka (Cape Umoya*), Peter Shalulile (Highlands), Loydt Kazapua (Maccabi*).

Nigeria: Daniel Akpeyi (Chiefs).

Zimbabwe: George Chigova (Polokwane), Elvis Chipezeze (Baroka), Edmore Sibanda (Witbank Spurs), Khama Billiat, Teenage Hadebe (both Chiefs), Danny Phiri, Divine Lunga, Knox Mutizwa (all Arrows), Ronald Pfumbidzai (Celtic), Kudakwashe Mahachi (Pirates), Ovidy Karuru, Talent Chawapihwa (both AmaZulu), Evans Rusike (SuperSport).

Uganda: Dennis Onyango (Sundowns), Allan Kateregga (Maritzburg).

Madagascar: Dax Andrianarimanana (Chiefs).

Burundi: Frederic Nsambiyumva (Chippa)

South Africa: Darren Keet, Thulani Hlatshwayo, Buhle Mkhwanazi, Sifiso Hlanti (all Bidvest Wits), Innocent Maela, Thembinkosi Lorch ( all Pirates), Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Daniel Cardoso, Bruce Bvuma (all Chiefs), Sibusiso Vilakazi, Lebohang Maboe, Hlompho Kekana, Tiyani Mabunda, Themba Zwane (all Sundowns), Thamsanqa Mkhize (Cape Town City), Dean Furman, Ronwen Williams (all Supersport)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *