Thu. Oct 17th, 2019

Game of Thrones recap: Season 1 – Betrayal, beheadings, and dragons

Game of Thrones Season 1 Starks Lannisters Baratheon TargaryenSeason eight returns to the small screen on 14 April. Be prepared, it’s going to be a wild ride.

game of thrones recap season 1 betrayal beheadings and dragons 1024x853 - Game of Thrones recap: Season 1 – Betrayal, beheadings, and dragons

ed93d2f1 sansa stark season 1 game of thrones 1200x1000 - Game of Thrones recap: Season 1 – Betrayal, beheadings, and dragons

Some of us are watching all the earlier seasons of Game of Thrones again, ahead of the much-anticipated season eight. But if that seems like too much of a mission, fear not.

We’ll do a quick recap with bite-sized bits of information. It goes without saying that this series will include spoilers. So many spoilers. You were warned.

The first season laid the groundwork for the George R. R. Martin’s complex fantasy world. We were introduced to some of the main characters from the start.

These included the Starks, the Lannisters and Baratheons, the last remaining Targaryens, the Dothraki, and the Night’s Watch.

The opening scenes of the first episode also introduced us to White Walkers, supernatural beings previously assumed to be mythical.

There’s a nifty little TL;DR video at the bottom.

Game of Thrones: Season One

The Starks

The Starks’ motto, ‘Winter is coming,’ was also echoed throughout the first season, in more ways than one. Ned Stark was called upon by King Robert to serve as the Hand of the King in the capital.

Oh, and all the Stark children get direwolves before they go their separate ways.

Sansa was set to marry the king’s son, Prince Joffrey. Sansa dreamed of being queen one day, but season one saw her dream turn into a nightmare.

Both Stark girls watched as their father was beheaded after Lord Petyr “Littlefinger” Baelish betrayed him. While Sansa was kept a hostage in the capital, Arya managed to escape and stayed alive by pretending to be a boy.

Her path, so very different from her sister’s, brought her in contact with both foes and mentors as she travelled across Westeros in season 2.

The Baratheons and Lannisters

We are also introduced to King Robert Baratheon and the Queen, Cersei Baratheon of House Lannister. In the first episode, we learn her incestuous affair with her brother Jaime.

Their younger brother, Tyrion Lannister, accompanies Jon Snow to the wall. Later, he does his bit to keep King Joffrey in check after King Robert’s death.

Yup, King Robert is fatally wounded while out hunting. It’s only later revealed that Cersei was behind his death, ordering another Lannister to get him as drunk as possible before the hunt.

Jon Snow and the Night’s Watch

Jon comes to the harsh realisation that life at the Wall is not what he expected. Unlike him, most of the recruits are untrained criminals who were forced into service.

Jon is humbled real quick when he’s assigned as Lord Commander Mormont’s personal steward, rather than a ranger.

During the first season, Jon and his new friend Samwell Tarly learn of the growing threat of the White Walkers when the corpses of dead rangers are reanimated.

Jon considered deserting the Night’s Watch when he learned of Ned Stark’s death, but instead rides with Lord Commander Mormont beyond the Wall and prove his loyalty to the Watch.

The Targaryens and Dothraki

We meet Daenerys Targaryen, who was sold to the Khal Drogo, feared Dothraki leader, by her brother, Viserys.

On her wedding day, Daenerys is giving three dragon eggs. Throughout the season, Daenerys falls in love with Drogo and he with her.

As arrogant as he is foolish, her brother Viserys believes he is the last Dragon as prophesied. Needless to say, he doesn’t survive season one.

Daenerys does. She becomes the Mother of Dragons after she walks into Drog’s funeral pyre with her three dragon eggs as the season ends.

She survives the fire, the eggs hatch, and now we have dragons. For a quick but in-depth – and hilarious – recap, watch Man of Recaps video.

Watch: Man of Recaps – Season 1

Read – Game of Thrones: Season eight is coming to Showmax

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *