Wed. Nov 20th, 2019

DA’s Shadow Cabinet: Dependables return, with a small hint of controversy

DA Shadow CabinetThe DA have unveiled their picks for the Shadow Cabinet. Like every selection of its kind, there are some solid picks, and a couple of controversial ones.

das shadow cabinet dependables return with a small hint of controversy 1024x768 - DA’s Shadow Cabinet: Dependables return, with a small hint of controversy

4e34c841 shadow cabinet da 1200x900 - DA’s Shadow Cabinet: Dependables return, with a small hint of controversy

A full week after Cyril Ramaphosa finally announced his cabinet, the DA have produced their own list of ministers to keep the ANC in check. Mmusi Maimane – who picked a much more sociable time than his counterpart – revealed the 28 men and women who would take up a position in the shadow cabinet.

DA favourites return

Some familiar, dependable faces return to serve the DA for the next five years. Natasha Mazzone will continue in her role as the Shadow Public Enterprises minister, and Phumzile van Damme is in charge of Communications. Meanwhile, Glynnis Breytenbach brings her no-nonsense approach to the Shadow Justice Ministry.

Joe McGluwa and Patricia Kopane will leave their provincial roles in North West and Free State respectively, with the former serving as the Shadow Home Affairs minister and the latter undertaking her duties as their Minister of Public Works and Infrastructure. Funnily enough, Kopane’s opposite number in Parly will be Patricia de Lille.

Any controversies?

However, the shadow cabinet is not without its controversies. Belinda Bozzoli, who recently caused an almighty uproar in Parliament, will serve as the Shadow Higher Education Minister. The professor was chastised for suggesting that singing struggle songs in Parliament is “undemocratic”.

Dianne Kohler-Barnard also makes a return to the higher echelons of the party, serving as the DA’s executive on State Security. The move may upset a few, given that she’s still fighting a case in the Equality Court for alleged racism. She has also previously lost her job as a shadow minister for sharing pro-PW Botha posts.

Here’s who is in the DA’s Shadow Cabinet

Shadow Cabinet
Dep. Minister
Minister in the Presidency Solly Malatsi Ghaleb Cachalia
Ministry in the Presidency:
Women, Youth & Disabilities
Luyolo Mphithi Nazley Sharif
The Ministry of Justice and
Correctional Services
Adv. Glynnis Breytenbach Werner Horn
The Ministry of Public
Service and Administration
Leon Schreiber Michelle Clarke
The Ministry of Defence
and Military Veterans
Kobus Marais Maliyakhe Shelembe
The Ministry of Home Affairs Joe McGluwa Angel Khanyile
The Ministry of State Security Dianne Kohler Barnard Dr Mimmy Gondwe
The Ministry of Police Andrew Whitfield Okkie Terblanche
The Ministry of Trade
and Industry
Dean Macpherson Mathew Cuthbert
The Ministry of Finance Geordin Hill-Lewis Dr Dion George
The Ministry of Agriculture
and Land Reform
Annette Steyn Thandeka Mbabama
Ministry of Human Settlements,
Water and Sanitation
Leon Basson Emma Powell
The Ministry of Basic Education Nomsa Marchesi Desiree van der Walt
The Ministry of Health Siviwe Gwarube Lindy Wilson
The Ministry of International
Relations and Cooperation
Darren Bergman Mergan Chetty
The Ministry of Higher
Education and Science
Prof. Belinda Bozzoli Baxolile Nodada
The Ministry of Environment,
Forestry and Fisheries
James Lorimer Hannah Winkler
The Ministry of Transport Chris Hunsinger Thami Mabhena
The Ministry of Mineral
Resources and Energy
Kevin Mileham Cheryl Phillips
The Ministry of
Social Development
Bridget Masango Thandi Mpambo – Sibukhwane
The Ministry of
Public Enterprises
Natasha Mazzone Erik Marais
The Ministry of Sports,
Arts and Culture
Tsepo Mhlongo Veronica Van Dyk
The Ministry of Employment
and Labour
Dr Michael Cardo Michael Bagraim
The Ministry of Public Works
and Infrastructure
Patricia Kopane Samantha Graham
The Ministry of
Small Business Development
Zakhele Mbhele Henro Kruger
The Ministry of Cooperative
Governance / Traditional Affairs
Haniff Hoosen Cilliers Brink
The Ministry of
Phumzile Van Damme Cameron Mackenzie
The Ministry of Tourism Manny De Freitas Hlanganani Gumbi
SCOPA Alf Lees Benedicta Van Minnen
SCOAG Phillip De Lange Eleanore Bouw-Spies
Appropriations Denis Joseph Ashor Sarupen

Mmusi Maimane on his Shadow Cabinet

Meanwhile, John Steenhuisen and Jacques Julius will serve as the DA’s whips. Julius will be the deputy, and Steenhuisen remains the chief. Mmusi Maimane reflected on the people he’s selected to best-reflect his party, and praised the diversity of his re-jigged inner circle:

“I am confident that our Shadow Cabinet possesses the requisite skills, experience and expertise to bring forward innovative alternatives to move our country forward. Comprising of youth and experience, academics and activists, orators and operators – I am proud to lead this Shadow Cabinet.”

“Our work will focus on an Agenda for Reform. The most pressing of these is the need for urgent economic reform. In this light, we will use Parliament to table our Jobs Bill and Cheaper Energy Bill, focus on city-led economic growth and fight for labour legislation reform,  amongst other things.”

Mmusi Maimane

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *