Fri. Nov 27th, 2020

‘The Glass House’: Eve Chase shatters dreams of a ‘perfect’ family

Eve Chase’s latest novel about the deep, dark secrets of a family will captivate readers right up to the last page.

the glass house eve chase shatters dreams of a perfect family - ‘The Glass House’: Eve Chase shatters dreams of a ‘perfect’ family

As summer starts to approach, and the days are getting warmer and longer, you will be needing some new books for your bedside table or by the poolside. 

For lovers of fiction, The Glass House is the ideal title to add to your reading pile as it is guaranteed to hold you captivated in the wonderful world of its pages. 

The new novel by author Polly Williams, who writes under the pseudonym Eve Chase, was released in May 2020 and immediately garnered critical acclaim, having been named one of PopSugar’s Best Books of July, as well as one of the New York Post’s Best Books of the Week.  

Dark family secrets central to ‘The Glass House’

The Glass House tells the story of the Harringtons, a rich and glamorous family living in England in the 1970s. The family, however, is shrouded in secrets and dark mysteries.

After their beautiful London home mysteriously goes up in flames, Mrs Harrington, the two children and live-in nanny Rita relocate to Foxcote Manor, an isolated estate surrounded by murky forests where lost things have a tendency of coming back…

When an abandoned baby girl is discovered in the woods around Foxcote, it looks like this tiny miracle foundling might just be able to unite the torn family and restore peace once again.

But this is not to be, because soon things start to unravel and before long a dead body is found in the woods. 

Forty years later, recently separated Sylvie is struggling to adapt to her new life. While trying to balance her job and maintain a relationship with her teenage daughter Annie, Sylvie’s life is turned upside down as a tragic accident threatens to rip away everything she cares about. 

This accident forces Sylvie to confront the past and find where she truly belongs. The buried secrets of Foxcote Manor hold the key to her questions. 

Described by fellow author Kate Morton as a “captivating mystery: beautifully written with a rich sense of place, a cast of memorable characters, and lots of deep, dark secrets”, ‘The Glass House‘ tells the story of how we find ourselves when we are most lost. 

76993cb6 glasshouse - ‘The Glass House’: Eve Chase shatters dreams of a ‘perfect’ family
Eve Chase’s latest novel, ‘The Glass House’, is already a hit with the author’s fans. Image:Carmen Coetsee

Mesmerising writing and complex characters

Chase has a magical way with words and in The Glass House her writing once more shines.

With its mesmerising descriptions and layered characters, this book will transport you to another world; one filled with lucid, beautiful writing and characters so realistic you feel you know them. 

The Glass House’: Memorable quotes

“So many memories remain in that house, stored like sunlight in a jar.” 

“She’s never imagined that so much family history might vanish […], like a Polaroid image left in stark sunlight, fading to a skeleton-grey silhouette then gone.” 

“Memories had to be protected, like rare jewels: the enormity of tiny things.”

“She still can’t shake that eerie watched feeling, especially at night when the house is lit up and the darkness rubs against the windows, thick and furred, like a black bear’s back.” 

“Behind a tall, rusting gate, Foxcote Manor erupts from the undergrowth, as if a geological heave has lifted it from the woodland floor. A wrecked beauty, the old house’s mullioned windows blink drunkenly in the stippled evening sunlight.” 

a1089b9c the glass house - ‘The Glass House’: Eve Chase shatters dreams of a ‘perfect’ family

More about the author

Chase is an exciting and fresh new voice in fiction. Besides writing novels, she is also a journalist, and her work has earned wide praise. 

Her previous novels — Black Rabbit Hall (2015) and The Vanishing of Audrey Wilde (2017) — were also an instant hit with readers. Penguin Random House describes Black Rabbit Hall as “an obvious must-read for fans of Kate Morton and Daphne du Maurier”. 

Chase won the Saint Maur en Poche prize for best foreign fiction in 2019, and her work The Vanishing of Audrey Wilde was long-listed for the HWA Crown Prize in 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *